A Million Aunties: An emotional, feel-good novel about friendship, community and family

Available
4.9/5.0
21,000+ Reviews
Bookshop.org has the highest-rated customer service of any bookstore in the world

Description

'An elegantly written and emotionally engrossing work of fiction.' Bernardine Evaristo, Booker Prize-winning author of Girl, Woman, Other

An emotional, tender and funny novel from award-winning author Alecia McKenzie that asks, what does family mean to you?

Seeking solitude after a personal tragedy upends his world, artist Chris travels to his mother's homeland, Jamaica, in a bid to find peace. He expects to spend his time painting alone, coming to terms with his loss and the fractured relationship with his father. Instead, he discovers a new extended and complicated 'family' with their own startling stories. Can they help him to become whole again?

Told from different points of view, this is an utterly compelling and deeply relatable novel from the winner of two Commonwealth literary prizes. Fans of Girl, Woman, Other and The Vanishing Half will love this book about friendship, community, chosen family, and healing after trauma.

What readers are saying about A Million Aunties:

'This is a wonderful story about the families we're given and those we make for ourselves. A life-affirming read.' Louise Hare, author of This Lovely City

'This warm and wise story celebrates the importance of community and belonging.' Woman's Own

'A tender novel.' Hello

'Have you ever not wanted a book to end? Were disappointed that the characters are gone from your life?... Makes you yearn for more.' New York Journal of Books

'An absolute delight!... Trust me - if you enjoy character-driven, multicultural fiction, you're going to want to get your hands on this book ASAP.' Reader review

'Emotional, enthralling and heartfelt... A story of loss and the infinite types of love.' Woman's World

'Pulls you in and holds you right till the end. It's strongly written with a delicate touch.' New West Indian Guide

'Tender... An emotionally resonant ode to adopted families and community resilience.' New York Times

'This big-hearted narrative of love, loss and family is handled with grace and beauty.' Publishers Weekly

'A beautiful book for anyone who knows there is more to family than blood relations.' Book Culture

Product Details

Price
£9.99  £9.49
Publisher
Dialogue
Publish Date
Language
English
Type
Paperback
EAN/UPC
9780349702544

Earn By Promoting Books

Earn money by sharing your favourite books through our Affiliate programme.

Become an Affiliate
We use cookies and similar methods to recognize visitors and remember their preferences. We also use them to help detect unauthorized access or activity that violate our terms of service, as well as to analyze site traffic and performance for our own site improvement efforts. To learn more about these methods, including how to disable them view our Cookie Policy.