A Thousand Ships: Shortlisted for the Women's Prize for Fiction

Available
4.9/5.0
21,000+ Reviews
Bookshop.org has the highest-rated customer service of any bookstore in the world

Description

Shortlisted for the Women's Prize for Fiction

Powerfully told from an all-female perspective, in A Thousand Ships, classicist and author of Divine Might, Natalie Haynes retells the story of the Trojan War – putting the women, girls and goddesses at the centre of the story.

For fans of Madeline Miller’s The Song of Achilles and Pat Barker’s The Silence of the Girls.

'With her trademark passion, wit, and fierce feminism, Natalie Haynes gives much-needed voice to the silenced women of the Trojan War'
Madeline Miller, author of Circe

This was never the story of one woman, or two. It was the story of them all . . .

In the middle of the night, a woman wakes to find her beloved city engulfed in flames. Ten seemingly endless years of conflict between the Greeks and the Trojans are over. Troy has fallen.

From the Trojan women whose fates now lie in the hands of the Greeks, to the Amazon princess who fought Achilles on their behalf, to Penelope awaiting the return of Odysseus, to the three goddesses whose feud started it all, these are the stories of the women embroiled in the legendary war.

'A many-layered delight' – The Guardian

'A gripping feminist masterpiece' – Deborah Frances-White, The Guilty Feminist

*Shortlisted for the Women's Prize for Fiction 2020

Product Details

Price
£9.99  £9.49
Publisher
Pan Macmillan
Publish Date
Language
English
Type
Paperback
EAN/UPC
9781509836215

Earn By Promoting Books

Earn money by sharing your favourite books through our Affiliate programme.

Become an Affiliate
We use cookies and similar methods to recognize visitors and remember their preferences. We also use them to help detect unauthorized access or activity that violate our terms of service, as well as to analyze site traffic and performance for our own site improvement efforts. To learn more about these methods, including how to disable them view our Cookie Policy.