Alison: a stunning and emotional graphic novel unlike any other

Available
4.9/5.0
21,000+ Reviews
Bookshop.org has the highest-rated customer service of any bookstore in the world

Description

AN IRISH TIMES FICTION BOOK OF THE YEAR 2022 A GUARDIAN BEST COMIC AND GRAPHIC NOVEL OF THE YEAR 2022 A TELEGRAPH BEST GRAPHIC NOVEL OF THE YEAR 2022

'Alison absorbed, delighted and moved me with its quiet truthfulness' Helen Garner

'A genius graphic novel (but lots of words) about a young woman from Dorset who leaves her life to be with a much older famous artist in London. It's also brilliant on relationships, creativity and friendship (and the art world)' India Knight

'Every now and again a book comes along that is such a bright joy, so true, so beautiful and moving. Alison is one of those books. I loved it' Jessie Burton, author of The Miniaturist

'Alison is Posy Simmonds meets Edward Bawden - and really, what higher praise could there be?' Observer

'Subtle and deliciously complicated, this is a big book on big subjects, but lightly, elegantly done. I loved it' Tessa Hadley, author of Free Love

Alison is newly married, barely twenty and struggling to find her place in the world. A chance encounter with an older artist upturns her life and she forsakes convention and her working-class Dorset roots for the thrumming art scene of London in the late seventies.

As the thrill of bohemian romance leads inevitably to disappointment, Alison begins to find her own path - through art, friendship and love.

'This book is a testament to the right to choose your own life' Jessica Andrews, author of Saltwater

'A delicious portrait of 80s and 90s London and a more universal tale of a working-class young woman making a life in a world that has not been designed for the likes of her. For all its effortlessness [...] Alison ends up carrying a great emotional heft. It's a lovely book, and I cried at the end.' Guardian

Product Details

Price
£18.99  £18.04
Publisher
Profile Books Ltd
Publish Date
Language
English
Type
Hardback
EAN/UPC
9781788169059

Earn By Promoting Books

Earn money by sharing your favourite books through our Affiliate programme.

Become an Affiliate
We use cookies and similar methods to recognize visitors and remember their preferences. We also use them to help detect unauthorized access or activity that violate our terms of service, as well as to analyze site traffic and performance for our own site improvement efforts. To learn more about these methods, including how to disable them view our Cookie Policy.