Black Lightning



Part of Peepal Tree's Caribbean Modern Classics series, Black Lightning is the third and final novel by Roger Mais, originally published in 1955, the year of his death.

Set in the Jamaican countryside, it follows the story of Jack, a sculptor and blacksmith who idolises the biblical Samson as a figure of man's independence. Setting out to carve a tribute to Samson in mahogany, Jack is soon beset by the break-up of his marriage, and a lightning strike that leaves him blind. What follows is a heart-rending tale of humanity, of finding one's way, and of friendship in adversity.

Roger Mais was born in Kingston, Jamaica. His 1944 critique of Churchill's imperialist ideology, Now We Know, saw him sentenced to six months in prison for sedition. His other novels are The Hills Were Joyful Together (1951), brought back into print by Peepal Tree in 2012, and Brother Man (1954), published by Macmillan Caribbean Writers in 2004. He was posthumously awarded the Order of Jamaica in 1978.

Product Details

£8.99  £8.54
Peepal Tree Press Ltd
Publish Date

Earn By Promoting Books

Earn money by sharing your favourite books through our Affiliate programme.

Become an Affiliate
We use cookies and similar methods to recognize visitors and remember their preferences. We also use them to help detect unauthorized access or activity that violate our terms of service, as well as to analyze site traffic and performance for our own site improvement efforts. To learn more about these methods, including how to disable them view our Cookie Policy.