Disturbance: A lyrical, witchy and atmospheric debut

(Author)
Available
4.9/5.0
21,000+ Reviews
Bookshop.org has the highest-rated customer service of any bookstore in the world

Description

'Wonderfully witchy and emotionally astute' Chloë Ashby
'Unsettling and atmospheric' Harriet Tyce
'Bloody brilliant' Clare Pollard

Propulsive and wry, this razor-sharp debut is perfect for fans of Boy Parts and My Year of Rest and Relaxation explores all the ways that relationships and trauma can haunt our lives.

As the sun sets on a feverishly hot July evening, a young woman spies on her teenage neighbour, transfixed by what looks like an occult ritual to banish an ex-boyfriend. Desperate to expel the claustrophobic memories of her own ex that have followed, the narrator decides to try to hex herself free from her past.

She falls in with the neighbour and her witchy friend, exploring nascent supernatural powers as the boundaries of reality shift in and out of focus. But when the creaks and hums of her apartment escalate into something more violent, she realizes that she may have brought her boyfriend's presence - whether psychological or paranormal - back to haunt her.

READERS LOVE DISTURBANCE
⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ 'well worth the wait - engaging and well-written'

⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ 'so vividly depicted that you'll feel you've met [the characters] and shared their angst . . . loved it'

⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ 'Brilliant'

Product Details

Price
£14.99  £14.24
Publisher
Orion Publishing Co
Publish Date
Language
English
Type
Hardback
EAN/UPC
9781398712072

Earn By Promoting Books

Earn money by sharing your favourite books through our Affiliate programme.

Become an Affiliate
We use cookies and similar methods to recognize visitors and remember their preferences. We also use them to help detect unauthorized access or activity that violate our terms of service, as well as to analyze site traffic and performance for our own site improvement efforts. To learn more about these methods, including how to disable them view our Cookie Policy.