Not Safe For Work: Author of the viral essay 'My boyfriend, a writer, broke up with me because I am a writer'

Available
4.9/5.0
21,000+ Reviews
Bookshop.org has the highest-rated customer service of any bookstore in the world

Description

The compulsively readable novel about a young woman trying to succeed in Hollywood without selling her soul - perfect for fans of Sweetbitter, My Dark Vanessa and Exciting Times


'Deliciously sharp, ridiculously funny, and surprisingly heartfelt' COCO MELLORS
'A blistering look at the hidden side of Hollywood' GLAMOUR
'Frank, funny and unputdownable' CLAIRE MESSUD
'Glittering. A funny, spiky, compulsive story about toxic workplaces' EVENING STANDARD
'A frank account of leaning in and its inherent filthiness' RAVEN LEILANI
________

You knew Hollywood would be difficult.

So when you land a job in television, you're ready for anything: pulling all-nighters, leaning on your powerful mother's contacts, keeping your boss happy whatever - and whoever - the cost.

You thrive under pressure, and are determined to excel. But there's a dark side to the industry that's about to rear its head. And soon, you must decide your place in it:

Follower. Troublemaker. People-pleaser. Rulebreaker.

If you don't know who you are yet, how can you know where you stand?

But no one is supposed to have it all figured out . . . Right?
________

'Sharp, fun . . . The writing is fresh and stylish. I loved it' DAILY MAIL

'Wholly engrossing and shrewdly observational' ZAKIYA DALILA HARRIS

'An intoxicating exploration of male-dominated workplaces' TIME

'Ambition bites back . . . So visceral is the narrator's voice that every time I opened the book it felt like sliding into uncomfortable heels. Brave' NEW YORK TIMES

Longlisted for the Center for Fiction Prize

Product Details

Price
£9.99  £9.49
Publisher
Penguin Books Ltd
Publish Date
Language
English
Type
Paperback
EAN/UPC
9781405950398

Earn By Promoting Books

Earn money by sharing your favourite books through our Affiliate programme.

Become an Affiliate
We use cookies and similar methods to recognize visitors and remember their preferences. We also use them to help detect unauthorized access or activity that violate our terms of service, as well as to analyze site traffic and performance for our own site improvement efforts. To learn more about these methods, including how to disable them view our Cookie Policy.