Queen of Exiles

Usually despatches within 3-5 days.
4.9/5.0
21,000+ Reviews
Bookshop.org has the highest-rated customer service of any bookstore in the world

Description

‘You may not know Marie-Louise Christophe but once you have met her, you won’t forget her. Vanessa Riley’s historical novel feels timely and relevant, commemorating a time when Black women were queens.’ Jodi Picoult, #1 New York Times bestselling author

Can a queen without a country still rule people’s hearts?

Hayti 1811

As Queen of Hayti, Marie-Louise Christophe rules alongside her husband, the King, in a court of opulence and beauty. But when King Henry is overthrown, Queen Louise and her daughters are forced to leave their royal palaces and flee to London.

In exile, Louise must redefine her position in society. Journeying from London to Germany, and finally settling in Italy, Louise and her daughters continue to move in royal circles, living a life filled with glittering balls and princely marriage proposals. But when tragedy strikes, and with newspapers and gossip following their every move, Louise must decide what is most important in her new world, and what is worth fighting for.

Based on the life of Hayti’s Queen Marie-Louise Coidavid, this is the tale of a remarkable Black woman of history, forced to rebuild her life on her own terms. Perfect for fans of Queen Charlotte, a Bridgerton Story.

Immerse yourself in a captivating story of:

  • Regency romance
  • Rich historical detail
  • Glamourous ballrooms
  • Empowerment
  • A historical figure you need to know about

‘A sweeping look at the political, social, and romantic intrigue surrounding Haiti’s first and only queen…richly imagined and wholly original.’
Fiona Davis, New York Times bestselling author

Product Details

Price
£8.99  £8.54
Publisher
HarperCollins Publishers
Publish Date
Language
English
Type
Paperback
EAN/UPC
9780008636944

Earn By Promoting Books

Earn money by sharing your favourite books through our Affiliate programme.

Become an Affiliate
We use cookies and similar methods to recognize visitors and remember their preferences. We also use them to help detect unauthorized access or activity that violate our terms of service, as well as to analyze site traffic and performance for our own site improvement efforts. To learn more about these methods, including how to disable them view our Cookie Policy.