Ready For Absolutely Nothing: 'If you like Lady in Waiting by Anne Glenconner, you'll like this' The Times

Available

Description

Rock stars to royalty, society to sobriety, get to know the real Susannah Constantine in the hottest memoir of the year!

'Sensational, juicy, gossipy, filthy and bravely honest in equal measure, Susannah Constantine's memoir is a rollicking romp through the upper middle classes' SUNDAY TIMES, 'BEST BIOGRAPHY AND MEMOIR BOOKS OF 2022'
'Hilarious and honest. A book for anyone who's after laughter, tears and one hell of a rollercoaster ride' GOOD HOUSEKEEPING, 'BOOKS OF THE YEAR'
'Wildly fun' DAILY TELEGRAPH, 'BEST BOOKS OF 2022'
'Sensational, juicy, honest, terrific - it reminded me of reading Lady Anne Glenconner' GRAHAM NORTON, Virgin Radio
'Hilarious and unsparing. An extraordinary story' REV. RICHARD COLES, Saturday Live
'Bonkers and brilliant. With comedy and candour, she bares her soul . . . Magnificent' SUNDAY MAIL
'There is a lot we can't mention on this show - you have to buy the book to find out what we mean' STEVE WRIGHT, BBC RADIO 2
__________

If you think you know Susannah Constantine you may be surprised to learn that while, What Not to Wear donned her the status of a 'style guru' it is actually the least interesting thing about her.

Hers is a tale full to the brim with extraordinary anecdotes...

From lavatory dramas with Princess Margaret, eye-opening sex-club etiquette with pop royalty to behind-the-scenes power struggles between Thatcher and the Queen! Her social landscape has been nothing, if not varied.

But appearances are deceptive and beneath it all, life had a dark side particularly her mother's mental illness and, her father's struggles with alcoholism. Somehow she had to forge her own life, away from the expectations of others.

Told with gobsmacking honesty and great dollops of humour, Ready For Absolutely Nothing is essential reading for anyone who loves a good memoir but secretly just wants to read the naughty bits.
__________

'Wonderfully written, very funny, but more than anything completely genuine' LADY ANNE GLENCONNER, author of Lady in Waiting

'A romp . . . Constantine comes across as a trooper with a filthy sense of humour' THE TIMES
'A rollicking ride . . . What a life' SUNDAY TIMES
'Fascinating, an incredible life' Christine Lampard on LORRAINE
'Shrewd, funny, ideally candid and written with great confidence, brio and aplomb. A feisty, thought-provoking delight' WILLIAM BOYD
'A treasure trove of previously untold stories . . . A riveting read' GOOD HOUSEKEEPING
'Gives readers a fascinating insight into [her] extraordinary life' WOMAN & HOME
'Entertaining and funny' MAIL ON SUNDAY
'Sparkling' DAILY MAIL
'Fascinating' DAILY TELEGRAPH
'Funny . . . Never dull' GUARDIAN
'Revealing' PRIMA
'We lunched better than we danced' ANTON DU BEKE
'Exuberant' i

Product Details

Price
£20.00  £19.00
Publisher
Penguin Books Ltd
Publish Date
Language
English
Type
Hardback
EAN/UPC
9780241555200

Earn By Promoting Books

Earn money by sharing your favourite books through our Affiliate programme.

Become an Affiliate
We use cookies and similar methods to recognize visitors and remember their preferences. We also use them to help detect unauthorized access or activity that violate our terms of service, as well as to analyze site traffic and performance for our own site improvement efforts. To learn more about these methods, including how to disable them view our Cookie Policy.