Saint Thomas's Eve: (The Tudor saga: book 6): a story of ambition, commitment and conviction from the undisputed Queen of Britis

(Author)
Available
4.9/5.0
21,000+ Reviews
Bookshop.org has the highest-rated customer service of any bookstore in the world

Description

Step back in time with multi-million copy and international bestselling author Jean Plaidy as she expertly paints a picture of Tudor England and its capricious and fickle King and court. This captivating and compelling historical novel is perfect for fans of Philippa Gregory.

'Plaidy brings home the tyranny of Tudor government' -- Times Literary Supplement

'Jean Plaidy's graceful study of Sir Thomas More and his family makes a novel that the reader can sink into and enjoy... sketched vividly and sympathetically. A rewarding book' -- Scotsman
'These books are page-turners; they offer a wonderful way to learn about history... and their stories will remain with you for ever' -- Daily Express
'A moving, beautiful inspiration of a book' -- ***** Reader review
'Jean Plaidy has a talent for bringing historical figures to life' -- ***** Reader review
'Great read!' -- ***** Reader review

**************************************************************************************
Henry VII once warned his son, the future King of England, not to trust Thomas More; years later that same son made More his confidante and advisor. But the allegiance is dangerously one-sided. A family man, lawyer and writer, More's ambitions are humble, whilst Henry's are endless.

As More's career at court rises so too does his religious fervour, much to the concern of his eldest daughter, Margaret More. Meg, as she is fondly called, is torn between her heretic husband and the secrets her father has confided in her, and already fears that one day her father will make the ultimate sacrifice for his faith.

The Tudor saga continues in The Sixth Wife.

Product Details

Price
£15.99  £15.19
Publisher
Cornerstone
Publish Date
Language
English
Type
Paperback
EAN/UPC
9780099493235
BIC Categories:

Earn By Promoting Books

Earn money by sharing your favourite books through our Affiliate programme.

Become an Affiliate
We use cookies and similar methods to recognize visitors and remember their preferences. We also use them to help detect unauthorized access or activity that violate our terms of service, as well as to analyze site traffic and performance for our own site improvement efforts. To learn more about these methods, including how to disable them view our Cookie Policy.