Sandwich

Available
4.9/5.0
21,000+ Reviews
Bookshop.org has the highest-rated customer service of any bookstore in the world

Description

The joyful summer read, perfect for fans of Marian Keyes and Nora EphronOne week in Cape Cod. The perfect family holiday. What could possibly go wrong...?

  • STYLIST Book of the Month: ‘A holiday reading gem’
  • GUARDIAN Book of the Week: ‘Wise and exquisitely written’
  • RACHEL JOYCE: ‘A piece of perfection’


For the past two decades, Rocky has looked forward to her family’s yearly escape to Cape Cod. Their rustic beach-town rental has been the site of sweet memories, its quirky furniture and mismatched pots and pans greeted like old friends.

Now, sandwiched between her children who are adult enough to be fun but still young enough to need her, and her parents who are alive and healthy, Rocky wants to preserve this golden moment forever. This one precious week when everything is in balance; everything is in flux.

But every family has its secrets and hers is no exception.

With her body in open revolt and surprises invading her peaceful haven, the perfectly balanced seesaw of Rocky’s life is tipping towards change…

  • GRAZIA Book Club Pick
  • ANN PATCHETT: ‘Sandwich is joy in book form’
  • NINA STIBBE: 'Funny, wise, poignant'
  • OBSERVER ‘A gem of a novel’
  • Richard and Judy Book Club selected author for We All Want Impossible Things



____________

Praise for SANDWICH:

Sandwich is joy in book form. I laughed continuously, except for the parts that made me cry. Catherine Newman does a miraculous job reminding us of all the wonder there is to be found in life’ Ann Patchett, author of Tom Lake

‘If you are after a book to pack on your next holiday, look no further. Here is a novel which will go down as easily as a chilled poolside drink i Newspaper

I adored this novel and am forcing it on everyone I know - Jenny Colgan, author of The Summer Skies

‘Newman is truly a master of taking complex and chaotic human emotion and making sense of it’ Guardian

‘If you want to laugh out loud, tear up and rush to pull out a book in the 35 seconds between subway stops, this sweet, savory, tenderhearted Sandwich fits the bill, and goes down like (bread and) buttah’ New York Times

‘A wonderful book about how families love, disagree, fail one another - and endure’ Rachel Joyce, author of The Unlikely Pilgrimage of Harold Fry

Engaging, frank, funny and moving…in every sense the hot summer read’ Daily Mail


We All Want Impossible Things, RIchard and Judy Book Club Pick, Autumn 2023

Product Details

Price
£16.99  £16.14
Publisher
Transworld Publishers Ltd
Publish Date
Language
English
Type
Hardback
EAN/UPC
9780857529923

Earn By Promoting Books

Earn money by sharing your favourite books through our Affiliate programme.

Become an Affiliate
We use cookies and similar methods to recognize visitors and remember their preferences. We also use them to help detect unauthorized access or activity that violate our terms of service, as well as to analyze site traffic and performance for our own site improvement efforts. To learn more about these methods, including how to disable them view our Cookie Policy.