Satyajit Ray, The Inner Eye: The Biography of a Master Film-Maker

Out of Stock. Delivery time unknown.


Satyajit Ray's films include the "Apu" trilogy, "The Music Room", "Charulata", "Days and Nights in the Forest", "The Chess Players" and "The Stranger". He also made comedies, musicals, detective films and documentaries. Beginning with the classic "Pather Panchali" in 1955, Ray was an exceptionally versatile artist who won almost every major prize in cinema, including the Oscar for lifetime achievement just before his death in 1992. Akira Kurosawa said of him "Not to have seen the cinema of Ray means existing in the world without seeing the sun or the moon". This is a definitive biography of this movie giant, based on extensive interviews with Ray himself, his actors and collaborators, and a deep knowledge of Bengali culture. Revised and updated following Ray's death, the book covers his final films and his artistic legacy and includes a comprehensive bibliography of Ray's writings.

Product Details

Bloomsbury Publishing PLC
Publish Date

Earn By Promoting Books

Earn money by sharing your favourite books through our Affiliate programme.

Become an Affiliate
We use cookies and similar methods to recognize visitors and remember their preferences. We also use them to help detect unauthorized access or activity that violate our terms of service, as well as to analyze site traffic and performance for our own site improvement efforts. To learn more about these methods, including how to disable them view our Cookie Policy.