Scrum Queens: The Story of Women's Rugby

21,000+ Reviews has the highest-rated customer service of any bookstore in the world


Scrum Queens: The Story of Women's Rugby, from 1880 to the Present Day charts the fascinating journey of women's rugby, from widespread social disapproval to the modern era of Olympic recognition and professionalism. Along the way, the book takes in all the major moments in the history of the women's game, from groundbreaking games during the war, to the first World Cup in 1991 and a momentous first appearance for women's rugby at the 2016 Olympics. There are stories of the pioneers who fought to get the game played in its earliest days, like New Zealand's Nita Webbe and France's Henry Flechon, while the more modern-day drivers of the game, like England's Carol Isherwood, also feature. Scrum Queens celebrates the success and heroics of the sport's top players and teams, with New Zealand's dominance of the game at every level alongside their long-time rivalry with England explored, along with the more recent successes of teams such as Ireland and Fiji, and the rise of the sevens game and its impact on women's rugby.

Product Details

£18.99  £18.04
Pitch Publishing Ltd
Publish Date

Earn By Promoting Books

Earn money by sharing your favourite books through our Affiliate programme.

Become an Affiliate
We use cookies and similar methods to recognize visitors and remember their preferences. We also use them to help detect unauthorized access or activity that violate our terms of service, as well as to analyze site traffic and performance for our own site improvement efforts. To learn more about these methods, including how to disable them view our Cookie Policy.