Take My Hand: The inspiring and unforgettable BBC Between the Covers Book Club pick

Available
4.9/5.0
21,000+ Reviews
Bookshop.org has the highest-rated customer service of any bookstore in the world

Description

'Unforgettable' Celeste Ng
'One hell of a book' Stylist
'Heartbreaking and utterly immersive' Kirsty Capes
'Deeply moving' AJ Pearce
'Wonderful' Cathy Rentzenbrink
'Magnificent' Bonnie Garmus
'Brims with hope' Elle
'Storytelling at its finest' Glamour

----------------

HISTORY REPEATS WHAT WE DON'T REMEMBER . . .


Montgomery, Alabama. 1973. Fresh out of nursing school, Civil Townsend has big plans to make a difference in her community. At the Montgomery Family Planning Clinic, she intends to help women make their own choices for their lives and bodies.

But when her first week on the job takes her down a dusty country road to a tumbledown cabin, she's surprised to find that her new patients are just eleven and thirteen years old. Neither of the Williams sisters has even kissed a boy, but they are poor and Black, and for those handling their welfare benefits, that's reason enough to have the girls on birth control. As Civil grapples with her new responsibilities, she takes India and Erica into her heart and comes to care for their family as though they were her own. But one day she arrives at their door to discover the unthinkable has happened, and nothing will ever be the same.

Inspired by true events and a shocking chapter of American history, Take My Hand is a novel that will open your eyes and break your heart. An unforgettable story about love and courage, sisterhood and solidarity, it is also a timely and hopeful reminder that it only takes one person to change the world.

----------------

Readers have been captivated by TAKE MY HAND too:

***** 'Incredibly powerful, moving and heartbreaking'
***** 'Realistic historical fiction at its best'
***** 'Fans of The Colour Purple, The Help, Where Crawdads Sing and To Kill A Mockingbird will love this'
***** 'Stunning, shocking, absolutely fantastic novel . . . I could not put this down!'
***** 'Definitely a must-read. So, so moving. Can't recommend highly enough'

Product Details

Price
£14.99  £14.24
Publisher
Orion Publishing Co
Publish Date
Language
English
Type
Hardback
EAN/UPC
9781474622677

Earn By Promoting Books

Earn money by sharing your favourite books through our Affiliate programme.

Become an Affiliate
We use cookies and similar methods to recognize visitors and remember their preferences. We also use them to help detect unauthorized access or activity that violate our terms of service, as well as to analyze site traffic and performance for our own site improvement efforts. To learn more about these methods, including how to disable them view our Cookie Policy.