The Black Hunger

Pre-Order   Ships 10 October 2024
4.9/5.0
21,000+ Reviews
Bookshop.org has the highest-rated customer service of any bookstore in the world

Description

'A gothic masterpiece and a devastating exploration of humanity's capacity for evil' Sunyi Dean, author of The Book Eaters

John Sackville will soon be dead. Shadows writhe in the corners of his cell as he mourns the death of his secret lover and the gnawing hunger inside him grows impossible to ignore.

He must write his last testament before it is too late.

It is a story steeped in history and myth - a journey from stone circles in Scotland, to the barren wilderness of Ukraine where otherworldly creatures stalk the night, ending in the icy peaks of Tibet and Mongolia, where an ancient evil stirs . .

A spine-tingling, queer gothic horror debut where two men are drawn into an otherworldly spiral, and a journey that will only end when they reach the darkest part of the human soul. Perfect for fans of The Historian and Jonathan Strange & Mr Norrell.

Praise for The Black Hunger:

'The Black Hunger is a phenomenal book full of rich historical detail, occult mysticism, and slow, creeping horror. . . a triumph' Thomas D. Lee, author of Perilous Times

'A new dark classic to stand alongside Frankenstein and Jekyll & Hyde, The Black Hunger reveals its horrors inch by devastating inch, leading the reader from the foothills of the Himalayas to the Scottish Islands and back again' Molly O'Neill, author of Greenteeth

'Rich in historical detail, poignant romance, sweeping adventure, and visceral terror, The Black Hunger is both utterly original and thrillingly addictive' Jennifer Thorne, author of Diavola

'A terrifying gothic journey to the place where the very cruellest, hungriest creatures hide in the snow, and wear our faces. This is a magisterial debut' Michael Rowe, author of Wild Fell

Product Details

Price
£9.99  £9.49
Publisher
Little, Brown Book Group
Publish Date
Language
English
Type
Paperback
EAN/UPC
9780356522180

Earn By Promoting Books

Earn money by sharing your favourite books through our Affiliate programme.

Become an Affiliate
We use cookies and similar methods to recognize visitors and remember their preferences. We also use them to help detect unauthorized access or activity that violate our terms of service, as well as to analyze site traffic and performance for our own site improvement efforts. To learn more about these methods, including how to disable them view our Cookie Policy.