The City Beyond the Stars

(Author) (Illustrator)
& 1 more
Available

Description

“Zohra is such an exciting storyteller - I was held spellbound throughout." Abi Elphinstone, author of Sky Song

Set in a lavish world of sorceresses, alchemists, jinn and flying carpets, this spine-tingling middle-grade book is perfect for fans of Kiran Millwood Hargrave and Sophie Anderson.

Confined to a besieged Settlement, Yara longs to free her mother from the alchemists in the City of Zehaira. When Yara receives a message from her mother to find the hidden residence of the Grand High Sorceress, it sets her on a different path.

Yara and her friends set off on an adventure to find her mother’s home, and to seek out a secret magic that her mother was working on – magic so powerful that it could defeat the alchemists once and for all. But the wicked alchemist Omair Firaaz is on her trail and will stop at nothing to gain the power himself…

Can Yara and her friends find the magic that could be the answer to everything … before it destroys them all?

From the author of the Waterstone’s Children’s Book of the Month The Kingdom Over the Sea, comes a gorgeous, lyrical adventure about family and finding where you belong.

Praise for The City Beyond the Stars:

“A thrilling, captivating adventure just as fun and magical as the original. Storytelling at its best.” – Hannah Gold, author of The Last Bear

"The book shines with magic and the power of storytelling. Spellbinding." – Zillah Bethell, author of The Song Walker

"Lyrical, magical and captivating - Zohra Nabi is the ultimate story sorcerer." – Laura Noakes, Cosima Unfortunate Steals A Star

"Vivid worldbuilding. A brilliant fantasy that children will devour." – Nazima Pathan, author of Dream Hunters

"A rare jewel, deftly plotted with thrilling twists and tension - flawless storytelling." – Sarah Driver, author of The Huntress

"I adored every second I spent with this book and I can't wait to read it again." – Jacob North, author of The Ice Apprentices
 
Praise for The Kingdom Over the Sea:

“Enchanting, immersive and beautifully imagined. Once I’d finished, I couldn’t stop dreaming of this magnificent magical world.” A.F. Steadman, author of Skandar and the Unicorn Thief

“Spellbinding storytelling - lyrical, heartfelt, and glittering with possibilities.” Sophie Anderson, author of The House with Chicken Legs

“Intricately-woven and wholly authentic.” Aisha Bushby, author of A Pocketful of Stars

A glorious debut brimming with magic and warmth. The Kingdom Over The Sea dazzled me every time I turned the page.” – Natasha Hastings, author of The Miraculous Sweetmakers

Product Details

Price
£7.99  £7.59
Publisher
Simon & Schuster Ltd
Publish Date
Language
English
Type
Paperback
EAN/UPC
9781398517738

Earn By Promoting Books

Earn money by sharing your favourite books through our Affiliate programme.

Become an Affiliate
We use cookies and similar methods to recognize visitors and remember their preferences. We also use them to help detect unauthorized access or activity that violate our terms of service, as well as to analyze site traffic and performance for our own site improvement efforts. To learn more about these methods, including how to disable them view our Cookie Policy.