The Devil to Pay: A sweeping and epic queer historical adventure

(Author)
Available
4.9/5.0
21,000+ Reviews
Bookshop.org has the highest-rated customer service of any bookstore in the world

Description

In a world of gunpowder, smoke and blood, two men’s love will rise above the chaos.

'An absorbing follow-up to the brilliant Leeward' The Times

In 1802, The Treaty of Amiens brings the French Revolutionary Wars to an end. After the drama of the past few years, Lieutenant Arthur Courtney returns home to England where he hopes to spend a blissful summer with his close friend, Hiram Nightingale.

But within weeks, HMS Loyal goes missing en route to Malta. She carries a French and British diplomat, Hugo Baptiste and Sir William Haywood. Their disappearance, in this tentative time of peace, may be enough to prematurely ignite war between France and Britain once more.

Both Courtney and Nightingale, Sir William’s son-in-law, receive a position on HMS Lysander, tasked with tracking down the missing frigate. But as their mission grows ever more dangerous with each passing day, the risk of dissension simmers menacingly on the deck of the Lysander.

And when painful memories finally begin to rise to the surface after so many years, the truth of Courtney and Nightingale’s powerful bond could be the spark that sets everything ablaze…

A thrilling queer adventure on the High Seas, with romance, naval warfare and long hidden secrets finally come to light. Perfect for fans of Kate Mosse, Ken Follett and Diana Gabaldon.

Product Details

Price
£18.99  £18.04
Publisher
Canelo
Publish Date
Language
English
Type
Hardback
EAN/UPC
9781804365670

Earn By Promoting Books

Earn money by sharing your favourite books through our Affiliate programme.

Become an Affiliate
We use cookies and similar methods to recognize visitors and remember their preferences. We also use them to help detect unauthorized access or activity that violate our terms of service, as well as to analyze site traffic and performance for our own site improvement efforts. To learn more about these methods, including how to disable them view our Cookie Policy.