The Dover Cafe Under Fire: A moving and dramatic WWII saga (The Dover Cafe Series Book 3)

(Author)
Available

Description

'Brilliantly written and researched . . . I loved it.' Rosie Goodwin

The third book in a moving and heartwarming World War II saga series. Perfect for readers of Ellie Dean and Annie Groves and for fans of the Home Fires series.

Dover, 1940

As firebombs fall on Dover, Edie Castle's life is thrown into turmoil when the garage where she lives and works is damaged and her beloved boss is arrested.

With no job and nowhere else to go, Edie returns to Castle's Café and her formidable mother, Nellie. Living with her mother is never easy, but tensions reach boiling point when an old friend of Nellie's arrives looking for a place to stay.

Meanwhile, desperate to clear her boss's name, Edie turns to his nephew for help. But when the café is engulfed in scandal, a shocking tragedy brings long-buried memories to the surface, and Edie realises she can't trust anyone - not even her own mother . . .

- - - - - - - - -

Praise for the Dover Cafe series:

'A brilliant evocation of a family and community pulling together in wartime. Full of drama, laughter, and nail biting cliff hangers. A triumph!' Annie Clarke, author of The Factory Girls series

'Well-researched and expertly written . . . Perfect for those days when all you want is a book to lose yourself in.' Fiona Ford, author of The Liberty Girls

'A joyous read, the sort of book to read in one sitting.' Kitty Danton, author of A Wartime Christmas

'A rattling good novel that gives the reader a front seat at the Dover café during World War 2 . . . a really good start to what looks to be a fascinating saga.' Shirley Mann, author of Lily's War

'Brilliantly researched, written with warmth and insight, brimming with emotion and drama, and starring a cast of superbly drawn characters who are guaranteed to touch the hearts of readers everywhere.' Lancashire Post

Product Details

Price
£8.99  £8.54
Publisher
Zaffre
Publish Date
Language
English
Type
Paperback
EAN/UPC
9781838776091
BIC Categories:

Earn By Promoting Books

Earn money by sharing your favourite books through our Affiliate programme.

Become an Affiliate
We use cookies and similar methods to recognize visitors and remember their preferences. We also use them to help detect unauthorized access or activity that violate our terms of service, as well as to analyze site traffic and performance for our own site improvement efforts. To learn more about these methods, including how to disable them view our Cookie Policy.