Island of Whispers

(Author) (Illustrator)
Available
4.9/5.0
21,000+ Reviews
Bookshop.org has the highest-rated customer service of any bookstore in the world

Description

"A grown-up gothic fairy tale" — The Guardian's "five best young adult books of 2023"

"With its silver-sprinkled jacket, this elegiac story . . . is perfect"
Children's Book of the Week – The Sunday Times

The award-winning, bestselling Frances Hardinge and Emily Gravett unite for the first time to conjure up a thrilling fairy tale of ghosts and magic, highly illustrated throughout with a luscious blue ink.


On the island of Merlank, the Dead must not be allowed to linger. The very sight of their ghosts can kill you. When young Milo is thrust into the role of Ferryman following his father’s sudden death, he is the one who must carry away the Dead.

Pursued by a vengeful lord and two malignant magicians, Milo must navigate strange and perilous seas where untold threats whisper in the mist. Does he have the courage and imagination to complete his urgent mission?

From the Costa Book Award-winning Frances Hardinge, author of The Lie Tree and Unraveller, with spectacular illustrations from double Kate Greenaway Medal winner Emily Gravett, this riveting coming-of-age tale will sweep you away on an unforgettable journey.

Island of Whispers is a beautiful hardback glittering all over with silver moths, making the most exquisite gift for anyone who loves mysterious fantasy worlds and graphic novels. Perfect for fans of Neil Gaiman and Kiran Millwood Hargrave.

Product Details

Price
£14.99  £14.24
Publisher
Pan Macmillan
Publish Date
Language
English
Type
Hardback
EAN/UPC
9781529088076

Earn By Promoting Books

Earn money by sharing your favourite books through our Affiliate programme.

Become an Affiliate
We use cookies and similar methods to recognize visitors and remember their preferences. We also use them to help detect unauthorized access or activity that violate our terms of service, as well as to analyze site traffic and performance for our own site improvement efforts. To learn more about these methods, including how to disable them view our Cookie Policy.