The Follies of the King: (The Plantagenets: book VIII): an enthralling story of love, passion and intrigue set in the 1300s from

(Author)
Available
4.9/5.0
21,000+ Reviews
Bookshop.org has the highest-rated customer service of any bookstore in the world

Description

Passions run high and play out at court in this glorious depiction of Edward II's reign from multi-million copy and international bestselling author Jean Plaidy. Perfect for readers of Philippa Gregory.

'Jean Plaidy conveys the texture of various patches of the past with such rich complexity' -- Guardian
'Jean Plaidy's books are a celebration of women's spirit throughout history' --
Daily Express
'Outstanding' -- Vanity Fair
'I am thoroughly enjoying this Plantagenet series and am making my way through them all savouring each page' -- ***** Reader review
'An excellent read - hard to put down' -- ***** Reader review
'Brilliant as always' -- ***** Reader review
'A book you cannot put down' -- ***** Reader review
**************************************************************************************
Edward the Second's first act on coming to the throne is to recall Piers Gaveston from exile, and the new king's devotion to the shrewd and avaricious young man soon becomes a scandal.
It is assumed that when Edward marries one of the most beautiful princesses in Europe his inclinations will change, but nothing can make him swerve from his attachment to Gaveston, who is clearly making the most of royal favour.

The new Queen Isabella, accustomed to adulation, is bitterly humiliated; and she is not a woman to forget or forgive. With the country in turmoil the king is making enemies throughout the land, and he fails to see that the most deadly of these is his queen.

Product Details

Price
£16.99  £16.14
Publisher
Cornerstone
Publish Date
Language
English
Type
Paperback
EAN/UPC
9780099510291

Earn By Promoting Books

Earn money by sharing your favourite books through our Affiliate programme.

Become an Affiliate
We use cookies and similar methods to recognize visitors and remember their preferences. We also use them to help detect unauthorized access or activity that violate our terms of service, as well as to analyze site traffic and performance for our own site improvement efforts. To learn more about these methods, including how to disable them view our Cookie Policy.