The King’s Mother: Four mothers fight for their sons as the Wars of the Roses rage

Available
4.9/5.0
21,000+ Reviews
Bookshop.org has the highest-rated customer service of any bookstore in the world

Description

From the critically acclaimed author of CECILY comes an intimate and gripping novel perfect for fans of Hilary Mantel, Madeline Miller and Maggie O’Farrell.


'Elegant and propulsive . . . I had to fight myself to put it down' A.K. Blakemore
'History at its most powerful: intimate and personal, visceral and devastating' Jennifer Saint
'Family dynamics at their most fierce - timeless and brilliant!' Kate Sawyer

------

1461.
Through blood and battle Edward has gained England’s throne – king by right and conquest – eighteen years old and unstoppable. Cecily has piloted his rise to power and stands at his shoulder now, first to claim the title King’s Mother.
But to win a throne is not to keep it and war is come again. As brother betrays brother, and trusted cousins turn treacherous, other mothers rise up to fight for other sons. Cecily must focus her will to defeat every challenge. Wherever they come from. Whatever the cost.
For there can be only one King, and only one King’s Mother.

From the Wars of the Roses to the dawn of the Tudor age, this is a story of mothers and sons; of maternal ferocity and female ambition - of all they can build and all they can destroy.
------

PRAISE FOR ANNIE GARTHWAITE
'Has the new Hilary Mantel arrived?' Sunday Telegraph
'A startling heroine' Sarah Moss
'Wolf Hall for the 2020s' Manda Scott
'A vividly female perspective on the Wars of the Roses' Imogen Hermes Gowar
'Absorbing' The Times

Product Details

Price
£16.99  £16.14
Publisher
Penguin Books Ltd
Publish Date
Language
English
Type
Hardback
EAN/UPC
9780241631270

Earn By Promoting Books

Earn money by sharing your favourite books through our Affiliate programme.

Become an Affiliate
We use cookies and similar methods to recognize visitors and remember their preferences. We also use them to help detect unauthorized access or activity that violate our terms of service, as well as to analyze site traffic and performance for our own site improvement efforts. To learn more about these methods, including how to disable them view our Cookie Policy.