The Queen From Provence: (The Plantagenets: book VI): a wonderfully evocative and beautifully atmospheric novel bringing the Pla

(Author)
Available
4.9/5.0
21,000+ Reviews
Bookshop.org has the highest-rated customer service of any bookstore in the world

Description

The public pay a price for personal excess in this captivating and dramatic historical novel by multi-million copy and international bestselling author Jean Plaidy. Perfect for fans of Philippa Gregory.

'It's hard to better Jean Plaidy ... both elegant and exciting as she steers a stylish path through the feuding Plantaganets' -- Daily Mirror
'Plaidy excels at blending history with romance and drama' -- New York Times
'Full-blooded, dramatic, exciting' -- Observer
'Fascinating' -- ***** Reader review
'Couldn't put it down' -- ***** Reader review
'Grabs you from the first page and doesn't let go' -- ***** Reader review
'Another first class read from Ms. Plaidy!' -- ***** Reader review
**********************************************************************************************************
Marguerite, eldest daughter of the Count of Provence, had married a king of France - and now her sister Eleanor is determined to make just as grand a match.

Good fortune and wily cunning bring her Henry of England. A good and generous husband but a weak king, he rules a nation that still remembers his cruel and foolish father, King John. As Henry showers gifts on his new bride, his extravagance forces him to levy ever greater taxation on the land, and the spectre of revolt soon looms against him.

For Simon de Montfort, the adventurer who will give England its first true parliament, the house of destiny is at hand...

Product Details

Price
£9.99  £9.49
Publisher
Cornerstone
Publish Date
Language
English
Type
Paperback
EAN/UPC
9780099510277

Earn By Promoting Books

Earn money by sharing your favourite books through our Affiliate programme.

Become an Affiliate
We use cookies and similar methods to recognize visitors and remember their preferences. We also use them to help detect unauthorized access or activity that violate our terms of service, as well as to analyze site traffic and performance for our own site improvement efforts. To learn more about these methods, including how to disable them view our Cookie Policy.