The Secret Diaries of Charles Ignatius Sancho: “An absolutely thrilling, throat-catching wonder of a historical novel” STEPHEN F

Available

Description

'A great storyteller and a fabulous actor. Well done, sir!' DAVID HAREWOOD

'Phenomenal! Highly recommended.' MALORIE BLACKMAN

'An absolutely thrilling, throat-catching wonder of a historical novel. Hugely recommended.' STEPHEN FRY

For fans of The Miniaturist and The Confessions of Frannie Langton comes this award-winning novel of illuminating historical fiction.

Meet Charles Ignatius Sancho: his extraordinary story, hidden for three hundred years, is about to be told.

I had little right to live, born on a slave ship where my parents both died. But I survived, and indeed, you might say I did more...

It's 1746 and Georgian London is not a safe place for a young Black man, especially one who has escaped slavery. After the twinkling lights in the Fleet Street coffee shops are blown out and the great houses have closed their doors for the night, Sancho must dodge slave catchers and worse. The man he hoped would help - a kindly duke who taught him to write - is dying. Sancho is desperate and utterly alone.

So how does Charles Ignatius Sancho meet the King, write and play highly acclaimed music, become the first Black person to vote in Britain and lead the fight to end slavery?

It's time for him to tell his story, one that begins on a tempestuous Atlantic Ocean, and ends at the very centre of London life. And through it all, he must ask: born amongst death, how much can you achieve in one short life?

"Utterly infectious." - The Times

The Times
and Sunday Times HISTORICAL BOOK OF THE MONTH

Product Details

Price
£9.99  £9.49
Publisher
Dialogue
Publish Date
Language
English
Type
Paperback
EAN/UPC
9780349702377
BIC Categories:

Earn By Promoting Books

Earn money by sharing your favourite books through our Affiliate programme.

Become an Affiliate
We use cookies and similar methods to recognize visitors and remember their preferences. We also use them to help detect unauthorized access or activity that violate our terms of service, as well as to analyze site traffic and performance for our own site improvement efforts. To learn more about these methods, including how to disable them view our Cookie Policy.