A Rose by Any Other Name

(Author)
Pre-Order   Ships 18 July 2024

Description

From the author of The Book of Gothel comes the queer, magical story behind Shakespeare's sonnets, as told
by one of his most famous subjects - the incendiary and mysterious Dark Lady.

England, 1603. Rose Rushe's passion for life runs deep-she laughs too loudly, meddles with astrology and music, and pays no heed to her mother's warnings to guard her reputation. When Rose's father dies and a noble accuses her and her best friend Cecely of witchcraft, they flee to London and make their way as occultists, secretly selling love charms and astrological advice. Their thriving underground business leads them to young noble Henry and playwright Will Shakespeare, and so begins a brief, tempestuous, and powerful romance - one filled with secret longings and deep betrayals.

Praise for The Book of Gothel:

'Mary McMyne is a magician' Gregory Maguire, New York Times bestselling author of Wicked

'McMyne's shimmering debut gives a fresh, exciting backstory to one of the most famous villains in fairy tale lore . . . the result is a sprawling epic, full of magic, love, and heartbreak. Fans of Circe and The Wolf and the Woodsman will devour this taut, empowering fairy tale' Publishers Weekly

Product Details

Price
£9.99  £9.49
Publisher
Little, Brown Book Group
Publish Date
Language
English
Type
Paperback
EAN/UPC
9780356517728
BIC Categories:

Earn By Promoting Books

Earn money by sharing your favourite books through our Affiliate programme.

Become an Affiliate
We use cookies and similar methods to recognize visitors and remember their preferences. We also use them to help detect unauthorized access or activity that violate our terms of service, as well as to analyze site traffic and performance for our own site improvement efforts. To learn more about these methods, including how to disable them view our Cookie Policy.