Why Is Nobody Laughing?

Available

Description

'A warm, sensitive and hopeful portrayal of a young person struggling with their mental health and family dynamics ... it has depth and great heart as well as charming characters that you will grow to love.' - Ciara Smyth, author of NOT MY PROBLEM, winner of the Waterstones Book Prize

Will the real Ibrahim Malik please stand up?

Ibrahim and Dexter have been best friends forever. While Dexter is always cool and confident, Ibrahim...well, Ibrahim's dealing with a lot. Hiding his passion for comedy from his family, dealing with the pressure of being the oldest child in an immigrant family, and now he's started having episodes he soon realises are panic attacks.

When Ibrahim has a panic attack on stage at a local stand-up competition, he runs off to a deserted room. There he finds Sura.

Sura is kind and helps him come to terms with his anxiety. He can open up to her in a way he's never been able to with Dexter. But there's also something strange about her - how much she knows about Ibrahim, and how she seems to disappear in an instant.

Will Ibrahim crumble under the pressure, or will Sura's words be enough to help him? And what will happen when he no longer has her help?

A powerful contemporary novel tackling teenage mental health in boys.

Perfect for fans of John Green, Alice Oseman and Holly Bourne.

Product Details

Price
£7.99  £7.59
Publisher
Hot Key Books
Publish Date
Language
English
Type
Paperback
EAN/UPC
9781471411342

Earn By Promoting Books

Earn money by sharing your favourite books through our Affiliate programme.

Become an Affiliate
We use cookies and similar methods to recognize visitors and remember their preferences. We also use them to help detect unauthorized access or activity that violate our terms of service, as well as to analyze site traffic and performance for our own site improvement efforts. To learn more about these methods, including how to disable them view our Cookie Policy.